here’s what I’m hoping 2014 has in store

I’ve already proved that I can talk about resolutions all year long, but it totally helped, so you know what? I’m going to do it again!

1. Post once a week for This is Generation Y, personal blog, or locavore blog I’ve had kind of mixed feelings talking about (and actually) blogging, but I’m going to treat this resolution as sort of a work related one–Blogging regularly is something that will look good on my resume, and I’ve been seeing a lot more social media type jobs out there so having a record of the social media type things will definitely help me out. Plus I LIKE writing, so I may as well take advantage of the easiest outlet I have.
2. Try lead climbing 5.7 So many mixed feelings about this– I really hate leading but I know I should do it more ( and I am a little embarrassed about my lack of it) so I let Sam convince me that this should be one of my resolutions. I will be pretty amazed if this happens, and also if it happens without me crying and/or pooping myself. Sorry for the TMI.
3. Do 6 30 day challenges This is just to get a little more activity in my life, and also because I’ve been doing the push up challenge and it’s totally working! I think the hardest part of this will be combating the boredom I feel when doing the activities–there is a reason people don’t regularly do 250 squats, and I’m convinced that one of those reasons is because it’s REALLY BORING. But I am doing two right now (squats and push ups) so I’m off to a nice start on this. Sam has also offered to write up his own 30 day challenge and I am totally going to take him up on that.
4. Challenge myself more at work Since I work remotely I don’t get much interaction, and if I’m going to be spending so much time by myself I might as well make it intellectually stimulating and challenging. Because I’m doing a couple different gigs I have several different ideas, but the first thing I did was make an editorial calendar for the Legal Journal so I can contact people ahead of time to interview and thus have more human interaction!
5. Increase my income (make twice as much as rent per month) This is pretty self-explanatory– I want to make more money so I will be less stressed out about money (and hopefully busier job-wise!) Once Sam starts school this will be a lot more important! Not really sure how to go about this since right now my time is awkwardly broken up by helping with the kids classes at the gym, so we’ll see.
6. Climb at the gym 3x a week Also self-explanatory– I can practice leading at the gym, I can get some exercise, I can be a better climber, and right now I have a free membership so I should really be taking advantage of that.
7. Read 25 books I think this is totally possible– its a smidge over two a month. I’ve kind of been making a list of what I want to read and all of the Ender books by Orson Scott Card are near the top of the list, as well as a non-fiction book called the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, which I know is good because I heard about it on Radiolab.
8. Stop using my snooze button I saw this comic and realized how terrible the snooze button concept is.

YecHQ

from flipmeme.com

This hasn’t been terrible so far, although I don’t have anywhere to be in a rush most mornings so it hasn’t been an issue. The next step is to actually get out of bed when my alarm goes off.

9. Have fun wedding planning, and then never do it again Also fairly self explanatory, but I find wedding planning mostly overwhelming and not that great. Too many details, too expensive, too many people who want to get involved and have strong opinions, too much planning in advance. These are all things I generally avoid because I’m not that great at them. Plus it’s all for one day, which just seems silly. But I have to do it, so I hope I can make it less painful.
10. Try spinning, and spin the fiber I have in my stash I have a drop spindle I got for my birthday a few years ago and I haven’t done ANYTHING with it! I don’t know if I will really like spinning but I’ll never know if I don’t try it out. If I like it, awesome, and if I don’t that’s fine too. My one caveat is that I have some nice fiber that I love, and if I don’t get into spinning I will get someone else to spin it for me so I don’t ruin it.
11. Learn how to crochet and make a granny square cowl EVERYONE tells me crocheting is easier than knitting, but so far I’ve never gotten the hang of it. But it’s definitely useful, especially in conjunction with knitting, and it’s FAST!
12. Knit 6 sweaters The two I am working on now will count toward these since I’m only on the sleeves of both of them, so I’m off to a good start! I definitely have the yarn for at least 6 sweaters, so the only thing stopping me from having 6 new sweaters by December 31, 2014 is my and my fickleness when it comes to my knitting. But I WANT 6 more sweaters, so I’m going to try to not ignore those damn sleeves that seem to take forever.
I have a couple other crafty resolutions, but they are about knitting things for other people so I am going to keep them secret for now 🙂

So there are my resolutions. I know 2014 is going to be a kind of crazy year– we will be moving in May, Sam will quit his job in June and start grad school, and we’re getting married in July! (and then going to 3 more weddings within a month of ours!) I’m really hoping I can do what I need to make it better than last year and lower the stress and up the fun, or at least satisfying feelings (success, pride, accomplishment, excitement, etc).

More of this (knitting, hanging out with this goofy wonderful dude I'm hitching myself to, and being out side)

More of this (knitting, hanging out with this goofy wonderful dude I’m hitching myself to, and being outside)
Photo by Kolby Kirk

And this! (climbing! Smith Rock!)

And this! (climbing! Smith Rock!)

1461156_10201713646295649_1595455586_n

Less of this (rotating in front of the space heater in my footie pajamas because I am freezing yet have no reason to leave the house)

